Florida Businesses Required to Report Independent Contractor Hires Effective 1 October 2021
Effective October 1 2021, certain Florida businesses will be required to submit new hire information for their independent contractors to the Florida Department of Revenue. Specifically, Florida businesses that have paid an independent contractor US$600 or more in a calendar year must submit new hire information within 20 days after their first payment to the independent contractor or the date on which the business and independent contractor entered into the contract, whichever is earlier. This is a significant change for Florida businesses that previously were unburdened by any state reporting requirements for their independent contractors. This CLE will cover the foregoing changes to Florida reporting requirements as well as provide an overview of key considerations when classifying workers as independent contractors.
Key topics to be discussed:
- What are the existing reporting requirements for employers under Florida law?\
- What is Senate Bill 1532 and what are its implications on employers?
- Procedurally, what should Florida employers expect under the new reporting requirements?
- What should employers consider in determining whether a worker should be classified as an independent contractor?